The Wall (City of Victory) (Hardcover)

The Wall (City of Victory) By Adrian Goldsworthy Cover Image

The Wall (City of Victory) (Hardcover)

$29.99


Email or call for price.

Other Books in Series

From bestselling historian Adrian Goldsworthy, the final book in his authentic, action-packed trilogy set on the frontiers of the Roman Empire.

AD 117: BRITANNIA. Roman centurion Flavius Ferox is trying to live a quiet life of dignified leisure, overseeing his wife's estate and resisting the urge to murder an annoying neighbour – until someone else does it for him.

Dragged back into a life of violence, Ferox finds himself chasing raiders, fighting chieftains and negotiating with kings. Under the new emperor, Hadrian, the whole world seems to be changing: old friends are now enemies, enemies claim they are friends, and new and deadly threats lurk in the shadows.

When Hadrian himself comes to Britannia to inspect his great wall, war erupts suddenly. Ferox is the only one who can save the emperor – but with his family, and his own life, in danger, he must first decide whose side he is on…

Gritty, gripping and profoundly authentic, The Wall is the final book in the City of Victory trilogy from bestselling historian Adrian Goldsworthy. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Harry Sidebottom.

Reviews for Adrian Goldsworthy

'No one writes more convincing Roman fiction.' Harry Sidebottom
'Gritty and realistic.' Daily Telegraph
'An extraordinarily rich picture of a battle on the Roman empire's borders.' The Times
'Brings the reader closer to the true nature of Roman Britain.' New Books Magazine

Adrian Goldsworthy's doctoral thesis formed the basis for his first book, The Roman Army at War 100 BC–AD 200 (OUP, 1996), and his research has focused on aspects of warfare in the Graeco-Roman world. He is the bestselling author of many ancient world titles, including both military history and historical novels. He also consults on historical documentaries for the History Channel, National Geographic, and the BBC.

Adrian Goldsworthy studied at Oxford, where his doctoral thesis examined the Roman army. He went on to become an acclaimed historian of Ancient Rome. He is the author of numerous works of non fiction, including Philip and Alexander: Kings and Conquerors, Caesar, The Fall of the West, Pax Romana, and Hadrian's Wall.

Product Details ISBN: 9781789545821
ISBN-10: 178954582X
Publisher: Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Publication Date: September 12th, 2023
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: City of Victory

“'No one knows the Roman army better than Adrian Goldsworthy, and no one writes more convincing Roman fiction.' Harry Sidebottom
'Gritty and realistic... Goldsworthy's characters are authentically ancient and his descriptions of Roman Briton ring true.' Daily Telegraph (Sydney)
'Incredibly authentic... Plenty of action and a cracking read for lovers of historical fiction or fans of Roman history.' What Cathy Read Next
'An extraordinarily rich picture of a battle on the empire's borders.' The Times
'A hugely enjoyable read by a master of non-fiction turned deft hand at Roman historical fiction.' Historical Novel Society
'Goldsworthy is an erudite guide.' BBC History
'Brings the reader closer to the true nature of Roman Britain' New Books Magazine” —Reviews for Adrian Goldsworthy