Death in Paris: A Death in Paris Mystery (Hardcover)

Death in Paris: A Death in Paris Mystery Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Death in Paris Mystery series.

Description


A charming series debut featuring two American sleuths in Paris, Death in Paris is a perfect traditional mystery for fans of M. L. Longworth and Juliet Blackwell.

The only thing chillier than a Parisian winter is cold-blooded murder.


When French financier Edgar Bowen drowns in a bowl of soup, his former girlfriend, American Rachel Levis, is alarmed by the unnatural death. Who dies eating a nice vichyssoise? But when she overhears a mourner at his funeral describing the circumstances of his death, something sounds even stranger: a bottle of rosé was on the dining table when he died. The only problem: Edgar loathed rosé. If he wasn’t drinking it, who was?

After the police rule the death accidental, Rachel knows it’s up to her and her best friend Magda to investigate. As the two Americans immerse themselves in Edgar’s upper-class world, the list of suspects grows: Could it have been his son, who inherited his money and lavish apartment? His icy ex-wife? His greedy new girlfriend? His impoverished personal assistant?

But when the suspects start dropping like flies, Rachel and Magda realize the murderer is tying up loose ends. It’ll be up to two amateur sleuths to solve their first case before the murderer decides they’re next...

About the Author


Emilia Bernhard is an American living in England. She’s imagined being an actress, a wedding planner, a spy, and a liberal icon, but she’s only ever dreamt of being a novelist. Born in Philadelphia, she lived in Iowa, Massachusetts, Arkansas, London, Cambridge, and Exeter before settling in Bristol, where she lives with her cat, Robert Southey.

Praise For…


Praise for Death in Paris:
“[A] très charmant debut...Though set in the present, the book has a timeless quality...Fans of cozies and the City of Lights, or drawn to the theme of female friendship, will eagerly await an encore. Pair this with Cara Black’s beloved Aimée Leduc series.”
Booklist, starred review

"Those who enjoy contemporary cozy mysteries with amateur sleuths will gobble it up."
Library Journal

"[A] delightful debut and series launch...Bernhard fills the novel with entertaining characters, conjures up an authentic Paris, and gives the reader intelligent, if frothy, fun."
Publishers Weekly

"Francophiles in particular will enjoy and be familiar with the descriptions of Parisian food, clothes, fashions, hairstyles, boulevards, streets, shops, cafes, language, and culture."
—NY Journal of Books

“A vivid picture of the delights and day-to-day of Paris living...Rachel and Magda are a wonderful sleuthing duo and I enjoyed them hashing out the information about the suspects, in true Parisian fashion.”
Night Owl Reviews

"A fun romp through Paris’s chicest districts alongside two delightful amateur sleuths."
—M. L. Longworth, author of the Provençal Mystery series

“With a dreamy location, plenty of sensory details, a passel of suspects, and a dash of suspense, Death in Paris is as luscious as a pain au chocolat served at a sidewalk cafe. Bernhard’s debut promises a wonderful new series set in the most beautiful city in the world."
—Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Key

"Bernhard has crafted a delightfully atmospheric mystery, a pièce de résistance filled with the flavor of Paris, France."
—Allyson K. Abbott, author of Murder on the Rocks

"A captivating cozy murder mystery with a bonus tour of everyone’s favorite city."
—John Pearce, author of Treasure of Saint-Lazare


Product Details
ISBN: 9781683317685
ISBN-10: 1683317688
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: October 9th, 2018
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Death in Paris Mystery