The Cat of the Baskervilles: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery (Hardcover)

The Cat of the Baskervilles: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Description


When Jayne Wilson’s mother is accused of murder, Jayne and Gemma have to eliminate the impossible to reveal the true killer.

Legendary stage and movie star Sir Nigel Bellingham arrives on Cape Cod to star in a stage production of The Hound of the Baskervilles put on by the West London Theater Festival. When Sir Nigel, some of the cast, and the director visit the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop at 222 Baker Street, Gemma Doyle realizes that Sir Nigel is not at all suited to the role. He is long past his prime and an old drunk to boot.

The cast, in particular the much younger actor who previously had the role, are not happy, but the show must go on.

Before the play opens, Leslie Wilson, mother of Gemma’s best friend Jayne, arranges a fundraising afternoon tea to be catered by Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room. The tea is a huge success, but when it’s time to leave, Sir Nigel has gone missing—only to be found at the bottom of the rocky cliff, dead. Along with the dead body, Gemma finds evidence incriminating Leslie Wilson. When the police, in the presence of handsome detective Ryan Ashburton and suspicious detective Louise Estrada, focus their attention on Leslie despite the numerous other suspects, the game is once again afoot and it’s again up to the highly perceptive Gemma and the ever-confused but loyal Jayne to clear Jayne’s mother’s name.

Fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle, and Sherlockians everywhere will delight at The Cat of the Baskervilles, the clever third Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery.

About the Author


Vicki Delany is a national bestseller in the U.S and one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers. A former computer programmer and systems analyst, Vicki lives and writes in bucolic Prince Edward County, Ontario. She is the past president of the Crime Writers of Canada. This is her third Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery.

Praise For…


Praise for The Cat of the Baskervilles:
"Delightful...Cozy fans fond of Sherlock Holmes will have fun."
Publishers Weekly

"A great one!...As always with this series, the story is rich with everything from history to scenery to sarcasm, with even the feline stealing a scene or two along the way."
Suspense Magazine

"Mystery lovers won’t be able to put this down!"

Seattle Book Review

“Another deftly crafted title in the ’Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery’ series by Vicki Delany, The Cat of the Baskervilles is a pure treat for dedicated mystery buffs by a true master of the genre...Unabashedly and unreservedly recommended for community library Mystery/Suspense collections.”
Midwest Book Review

Praise for Body on Baker Street:
“Cozy fans fond of Conan Doyle are most likely to enjoy Delany’s second whodunit.”
Publishers Weekly

"Delightful...sure to please fans of Holmes pastiches and bookstore mysteries."
Library Journal

“A twisty plot and an engaging main character. This series will appeal both to cozy readers and to Holmesians.”
Booklist

“A light-hearted and delightful romp...A perfect novel to read to while away a rainy afternoon with a cup of tea or to keep you company on vacation.”
Seattle Book Review, five-star review

"Cozy mystery fans will love this one!"
Suspense Magazine

Praise for Elementary, She Read:
"Vicki Delany’s Elementary, She Read is an absolute delight. A perplexing mystery with a refreshingly intelligent and witty amateur sleuth, I enjoyed every well-crafted word of this Sherlock Holmes infused tale. A must read for lovers of all things Sherlock Holmes."
—Jenn McKinlay, NYT and USA Today bestselling author of Better Late Than Never

"Vicki Delany is one of my favorite mystery authors and with Elementary, She Read, she has outdone herself. This first book in her intriguing new series features Gemma Doyle, a wonderfully appealing protagonist who runs the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium, where delightfully quirky characters and fascinating old books flourish. I loved everything about this story! The Cape Cod setting was enchanting and the intricate mystery kept me turning pages late into the night. Easily one of the best new mystery series on the market."
—Kate Carlisle, New York Times bestselling author of the Fixer-Upper mysteries and the Bibliophile mysteries

Elementary, She Read is a delight, fast, fun, and full of Sherlockian lore. Cheers for a charming, intelligent heroine as observant as The Great Detective himself.”
—Carolyn Hart, New York Times bestselling author of Walking on My Grave

“Thoroughly delightful. I defy anyone to read this book and not fall in love with the uber-observant Gemma Doyle. She may or may not be related to Sherlock Holmes’ creator, but she’s certainly kin to his most famous detective. The best new cozy series of the year.”
—Laura DiSilverio, bestselling author of the Readaholics Book Club mysteries and the award-winning The Reckoning Stones

Praise for Vicki Delany:
"A fun Yuletide-themed cozy with an appealing amateur sleuth."
Library Journal on Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen

"Delightful...a humorous tinsel-covered tale that made me laugh out loud even while keeping me guessing."
New York Times bestselling author Jenn McKinlay on Rest Ye Murdered Gentlemen

"A charming new series...a book lover’s dream."
New York Times bestselling author Krista Davis on Booked for Trouble (as Eva Gates)


Product Details
ISBN: 9781683314714
ISBN-10: 1683314719
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: February 13th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery