The Books of the Dead: A Death in Paris Mystery (Hardcover)

The Books of the Dead: A Death in Paris Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


The second book in Emilia Bernhard's charming Death in Paris series, featuring two American sleuths in the City of Lights, is perfect for fans of M. L. Longworth and Juliet Blackwell.

Parisian summers are for strolls in the park . . . and solving a murder--or two.

When American sleuth Rachel Levis stumbles upon an employee of the French national library strangled in the bathroom of a cafe, she's not surprised to be asked to help with the investigation by her old acquaintance Capitaine Boussicault--after all, she and her best friend Magda solved a tricky murder only eighteen months before.

But right from the start, this case proves to be très difficile. When Rachel goes undercover as a librarian to determine which of his book-loving colleagues loathed the man enough to kill him, the library is rocked by more bad news: a priceless antique book has been mutilated. And the very next day, her favorite suspect for the murder is found dead in the stacks.

Just as the case is heating up, Boussicault pulls Rachel from the investigation. Undeterred, she and Magda decide to forge ahead with their own investigation--even if it could put them at odds with the police and in serious danger. With evidence and suspects piling up, it will be up to them to find the culprit--and stop more innocent books from being harmed--before anyone else checks out for good.

About the Author


Emilia Bernhard is an American living in England. She's imagined being an actress, a wedding planner, a spy, and a liberal icon, but she's only ever dreamt of being a novelist. Born in Philadelphia, she lived in Iowa, Massachusetts, Arkansas, London, Cambridge, and Exeter before settling in Bristol, where she lives with her cat, Robert Southey.

Praise For…


Praise for The Books of the Dead:
"The interplay between Boussicault and Rachel...drive the narrative as much as the puzzle. A worthy encore to Bernhard's Death in Paris series debut."
Kirkus Reviews

“Bernhard keeps the reader guessing right up to the surprising finale. This mystery has it all: authentic Parisian local color, fully realized characters, amusing dialogue, and a satisfyingly complex plot.”
—Publishers Weekly

"[A] spirited sequel...This mystery has it all: authentic Parisian local color, fully realized characters, amusing dialogue, and a satisfyingly complex plot."   
—Publishers Weekly

"Another charming amateur investigator tale...[For] fans of Mary Kay Andrews or Laura Childs."
Library Journal

"Charming...[For] fans of Mary Kay Andrews or Laura Childs."
Library Journal

"Charming."
Booklist

"If you're looking for something new and different in the mystery genre you won’t go wrong with The Books of the Dead."
MyShelf

"Another deftly crafted ‘A Death in Paris’ mystery...A riveting read from cover to cover."
Midwest Book Review

Praise for Death in Paris:
"Très charmant…Fans of cozies and the City of Lights, or drawn to the theme of female friendship, will eagerly await an encore. Pair this with Cara Black's beloved Aimée Leduc series.
Booklist, starred review

"[A] delightful debut and series launch... Bernhard fills the novel with entertaining characters, conjures up an authentic Paris, and gives the reader intelligent, if frothy, fun."
Publishers Weekly
 
“This who enjoy contemporary cozy mysteries with amateur sleuths will gobble it up.”
Library Journal

“A vivid picture of the delights and day-to-day of Paris living... Rachel and Magda are a wonderful sleuthing duo and I enjoyed them hashing out the information about the suspects, in true Parisian fashion.”
—Night Owl Reviews
 
Francophiles in particular will enjoy and be familiar with the descriptions of Parisian food, clothes, fashions, hairstyles, boulevards, streets, shops, cafes, language, and culture.”
—NY Journal of Books

“A fun romp through Paris’s chicest districts alongside two delightful amateur sleuths."
—M. L. Longworth, author of the Provençal Mystery series  
 
“​With a dreamy location, plenty of sensory details, a passel of suspects, and a dash of suspense, Death in Paris is as luscious as a pain au chocolat served at a sidewalk cafe. Bernhard's debut promises a wonderful new series set in the most beautiful city in the world."
—Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Key
 
"Bernhard has crafted a delightfully atmospheric mystery, a pièce de résistance filled with the flavor of Paris, France."
—Allyson K. Abbott, author of Murder on the Rocks 
 
"Two younger, racier Miss Marples, American expats in Paris, live out their dreams with no more than the usual upset until financier Edgar Bowen drowns in his vichyssoise. It's not murder, say the police, but the wine tells a different story. A captivating cozy murder mystery with a bonus tour of everyone's favorite city."
—John Pearce, author of Treasure of Saint-Lazare


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643851570
ISBN-10: 1643851578
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: October 8th, 2019
Series: A Death in Paris Mystery