Danger on the Atlantic (A Jane Wunderly Mystery #3) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Danger on the Atlantic (A Jane Wunderly Mystery #3) By Erica Ruth Neubauer Cover Image

Danger on the Atlantic (A Jane Wunderly Mystery #3) (Paperback)

$16.95


Coming within 3 Months - Available for Pre-Order Now

In Agatha Award-winning author Erica Neubauer’s third wanderlust-inspiring historical mystery, young American widow Jane Wunderly understands there are worse fates than adventuring aboard a transatlantic liner with the only man who could change her mind about romance. Unfortunately, her first-class itinerary has an unexpected—and deadly—addition waiting just below deck…

Atlantic Ocean, 1926: Voyaging from Southampton to New York, self-reliant Jane is determined to prove herself a worthy investigator on the stately ship—even awkwardly going undercover as the fashionable wife of her magnetic partner, Mr. Redvers. Few details are known about the rumored German spy the duo have been tasked with identifying among fellow passengers, but new troubles unfold once wealthy newlywed Vanessa FitzSimmons announces the sudden disappearance of her husband at sea...

Miles Van de Meter, the man Vanessa rushed to marry in Monte Carlo, has allegedly vanished into thin air along with his luggage. Redvers guesses the shifty heiress may be weaving tall tales for fun between flutes of champagne, yet Jane isn’t convinced—not after the stunning murder of a trusted acquaintance sends them into uncharted waters. Facing two dangerous mysteries and a boat load of suspects, Jane must navigate a claustrophobic quest for answers before the culprits can slip from her grasp on land...or, worse, ensure she and Redvers never reach their destination.
Erica Ruth Neubauer is the Agatha Award-winning author of the Jane Wunderly Mysteries, as well as an Anthony Award and
Lefty Award finalist. She spent eleven years in the military, nearly two as a Maryland police officer, and one as a high school
English teacher, before finding her way as a writer. She has been a reviewer of mysteries and crime fiction for publications such
as Publishers Weekly and Mystery Scene Magazine for several years, and she’s a member of Sisters in Crime and Mystery
Writers of America. Erica Ruth lives in Milwaukee, WI. Visit her at EricaRuthNeubauer.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781496725929
ISBN-10: 1496725921
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: February 21st, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Jane Wunderly Mystery
Praise for the June Wunderly Mysteries:
  
“Because Jane is a modern woman, she uses her own smarts and her own skills to eventually solve the crime and nab the culprit. Jane is faced with starting to come to terms with her own past and beginning to look ahead to a future. She’s also American, so this reader is wondering if she’s headed back stateside in the next installment. I can’t wait to find out.” Mystery
Scene on Murder at Wedgefield Manor
 
“Neubauer’s sophomore effort is just as sparkling as her debut, filled with dashing adventure, a classic mystery, 1920s glamor, and a touch of romance. Murder at Wedgefield Manor once again updates a classic formula for contemporary audiences. And did I remember to say it was dashing?” —Daniel Goldin, Boswell Books Company (Milwaukee, WI) on Murder at Wedgefield
Manor
  
“Neubauer’s sprightly follow-up…The country house intrigue and an unconventional chase reap rewards. Readers will look forward to further cases of the intrepid Jane and the mysterious Mr. Redvers.” Publishers Weekly on Murder at Wedgefield Manor
  
“A retro whodunit with a comfy cast and a nifty solution.” Kirkus Reviews on Murder at Wedgefield Manor
  
“Stunning revelations, romance, adventure, and intrigue abound in this multilayered, delightfully entertaining whodunit. Neubauer’s debut dazzles, with a smart plot, remarkable scenery, and skilled execution.” Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW on Murder at the Mena House
   
Jane is a feisty heroine, the setting is enticingly depicted, and there are several intriguing subplots. Fans of Agatha Christie will enjoy this homage.—Booklist on Murder at the Mena House
   
“Neubauer’s promising debut…[Readers] will be eager for the next installment.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at the Mena
House
  
"Engaging...A very good start to a new historical mystery series." Mystery Scene on Murder at the Mena House
   
“A roaring Twenties adventure.” Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine on Murder at the Mena House
   
“A welcome vacation…Erica Ruth Neubauer could whisk you off to a swanky Egyptian resort in the 1920s with plenty of cocktails
and a mysterious handsome stranger.” Milwaukee Journal Sentinel on Murder at the Mena House
   
“Fans of Elizabeth Peter are going to want to get in on the ground floor of Erica Ruth Neubauer’s Jane Wunderly mysteries.” —Jess Lourey in CrimeReads on Murder at the Mena House
   
Murder at the Mena House reflects a much more glamorous and gentler age of sleuthing, when the detective wore a tuxedo instead of a trench coat and his lovely companion didn’t merely sit around and wait to be rescued from the villain’s clutches.” New York Journal of Books on Murder at the Mena House
  
“This delightful new historical mystery series highlights a charming heroine, albeit one with secrets up her sleeve, and features colorful characters, a picturesque setting, sparkling wit, and a healthy dose of suspense.” —Daniel Goldin, Boswell Books Company (Milwaukee, WI) on Murder at the Mena House
   
“This charming debut is perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander and Deanna Raybourn. I can't wait to see what Jane's next adventure will be!” —John McDougall, Murder by the Book Bookstore (Houston, TX)
   
“If you want to escape to a glamorous hotel in 1920s Egypt and solve a good, old-fashioned murder with a witty heroine, this is the book for you!” —Devin Abraham, Once Upon a Crime Books (Minneapolis, MN) on Murder at the Mena House
   
"With deft characterizations, an engaging plot, and the most compelling heroine I’ve found since Amelia Peabody, Erica Ruth Neubauer’s Murder at the Mena House is the best book you’ll read this year. I can’t wait for the next installment of this phenomenal series.” —Tasha Alexander, author of In the Shadow of Vesuvius on Murder at the Mena House
   
“What a refreshing surprise to be back on the Nile in this confident and accomplished debut. Neubauer pays proper homage to the Golden Age, but her crisp style and witty heroine ensure that Murder at the Mena House zips along in a thoroughly modern manner. I hope plucky Jane Wunderly has a long sleuthing future ahead; I, for one, am already looking forward to her next
adventure.” —Catriona McPherson, author of Go To My Grave on Murder at the Mena House
   
“A thrilling new series!” —Victoria Thompson, national bestselling author of Murder on Union Square on Murder at the Mena
House
   
“It’s no small feat to bring 1920s colonial Egypt to life, but Murder at the Mena House does far more than that. It’s an elegant mystery—written with wit, style, and heart—and Jane Wunderly is an unforgettable sleuth. Erica Neubauer’s debut is an absolute delight.” —Hilary Davidson, Anthony Award–winning author of Don’t Look Down on Murder at the Mena House
 
Murder at the Mena House is impossible to put down. A pitch-perfect mystery, with an exotic locale, and an unforgettable main character I hope to encounter again in future books. Erica Neubauer has created one of the most impressive debut novels I’ve read.” —Alex Grecian, author of The Saint of Wolves and Butchers on Murder at the Mena House
  
“An exotic trip back in time to 1920s Egypt, with a cast of winning characters right out of the Golden Age of crime fiction. Murder at the Mena House is a charming adventure cum murder mystery set in a luxury hotel at the foot of the great pyramids. Gigolos, cardsharps, smugglers, rich aunts, and one achingly handsome romantic interest surround our plucky, irresistible, complex heroine, the young widow Mrs. Jane Wunderly. An auspicious start to what promises to be an exciting and compelling series.” —James W. Ziskin, Anthony and Macavity Award-winning author of the Ellie Stone mysteries on Murder at the Mena House