Murder for Christmas (Mordecai Tremaine Mystery) (Paperback)

Murder for Christmas (Mordecai Tremaine Mystery) By Francis Duncan Cover Image

Murder for Christmas (Mordecai Tremaine Mystery) (Paperback)

The first book in a classic Golden Age mystery series perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Hercule Poirot

When Mordecai Tremaine arrives at the country retreat of one Benedict Grame on Christmas Eve, he discovers that the revelries are in full swing in the sleepy village of Sherbroome—but so too are tensions amongst the assortment of guests.

When midnight strikes, the partygoers discover that presents aren't the only things nestled under the tree...there's a dead body too. A dead body that bears a striking resemblance to Father Christmas. With the snow falling and suspicions flying, it's up to Mordecai to sniff out the culprit—and prevent anyone else from getting murder for Christmas.

Murder for Christmas is a festive mystery for the holiday season: mulled wine, mince pies... and murder.

Francis Duncan is the pseudonym for William Underhill, who was born in 1918. He lived virtually all his life in Bristol and served in the Royal Army Medical Corps in World War II, landing in France shortly after D-Day. After the war, he trained as a teacher and spent the rest of his life in education. He died in 1988.

Product Details ISBN: 9781492651703
ISBN-10: 1492651702
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: October 10th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Mordecai Tremaine Mystery
"Fans of classic British mysteries will delight in this Christmas tale loaded with red herrings and cleverly planted clues." — Kirkus Reviews

"Unexpected and accomplished twists to the cozy mystery formula add to the old-fashioned pleasures of this novel. " — Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers will enjoy Tremaine’s exploits. Pair with Mavis Doriel Hay’s The Santa Klaus Murder for a double shot of golden age yuletide mystery." — Library Journal

"An old-fashioned mystery in the best possible way." — Tulsa World

"There are hints of Agatha Christie's long-running play "The Mousetrap" here, as everyone at a multi-day Christmas house party becomes a suspect when one of their number is found dead underneath the Christmas tree, dressed in a Father Christmas robe...Duncan will have readers guessing the murder's identity up until the end. " — Deseret News