Murder in Masquerade (A Lady of Letters Mystery #2) (Paperback)

Murder in Masquerade (A Lady of Letters Mystery #2) By Mary Winters Cover Image

Murder in Masquerade (A Lady of Letters Mystery #2) (Paperback)

$18.00


On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Feb 20 10:03am

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Lady of Letters Mystery series.

Extra, extra, read all about it! Countess turned advice columnist Amelia Amesbury finds herself playing the role of sleuth when a night at the theatre turns deadly.

Victorian Countess Amelia Amesbury’s secret hobby, writing an advice column for a London penny paper, has gotten her into hot water before. After all, Amelia will do whatever it takes to help a reader in need. But now, handsome marquis Simon Bainbridge desperately requires her assistance. His beloved younger sister, Marielle, has written Amelia's Lady Agony column seeking advice on her plans to elope with a man her family does not approve of. Determined to save his sister from a scoundrel and the family from scandal, Simon asks Amelia to dissuade Marielle from the ill-advised gambit.

But when the scoundrel makes an untimely exit after a performance of Verdi’s Rigoletto, Amelia realizes there’s much more at stake than saving a young woman’s reputation from ruin. It’s going to take more than her letter-writing skills to help the dashing marquis, mend the familial bond, and find the murderer. Luckily, solving problems is her specialty!
Mary Winters is the author of a number of cozy mystery series (as Mary Angela). When not penning heartwarming whodunits, Mary lives in South Dakota with her family, where she teaches writing.
Product Details ISBN: 9780593548783
ISBN-10: 0593548787
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: February 20th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Lady of Letters Mystery
Praise for the Lady of Letters Series

"...[A] refreshing libation of mystery, wit, and Victorian society, with a twist of romance." - Dianne Freeman, Agatha Award-winning author of the Countess of Harleigh mysteries

“[A] delightful character-driven historical mystery for fans of Katharine Schellman or Dianne Freeman.”  - Library Journal starred review 

"Enjoy the charming characters, a touch of romance, and an unexpected denouement." —Kirkus Reviews

"The author is a wonderful storyteller and I found myself progressing effortlessly through the narrative. With plenty of levels to the plot and several red herrings and twists, the story kept me engaged throughout." - Mystery & Suspense Magazine 

"A very special and original Victorian era cozy mystery set in 1860, "Murder in Postscript" by Mary Winters is a highly recommended and fun read for all dedicated mystery fans.” - Midwest Book Review 
 
"This book was a sheer delight to read. The characters were very endearing and I was very invested in the story. I adored Lady Amelia and her kind, thoughtful and independent heart." - Becky’s Bookshelf 
 
Murder in Postscript is almost flawlessly executed, with all the supporting characters a reader expects in mystery and Regency romance.” - Chick Lit Central

ABC Catalog

ABC catalog block image