Careless Love: A DCI Banks Novel (Inspector Banks Novels #25) (Paperback)

Careless Love: A DCI Banks Novel (Inspector Banks Novels #25) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 25 in the Inspector Banks Novels series.


His fans include Stephen King, Michael Connelly, Tess Gerritsen, Ian Rankin, and Louise Penney. He has won acclaim and numerous international prizes and awards, including the Edgar. Now, Peter Robinson, one of the world’s greatest suspense writers, returns with a powerful mystery in which his legendary Detective Superintendent Alan Banks must solve two perplexing crimes.

Two suspicious deaths challenge DS Alan Banks and his crack investigative team.

A young local student’s body is found in an abandoned car on a lonely country road. The death looks like suicide, but there are too many open questions for Banks and his team to rule out foul play. The victim didn’t own a car. She didn’t even drive. How did she get there? Where—and when—did she die? Did someone move her, and if so, why?

A man in his sixties is found dead in a gully up on the wild moorland. He is wearing an expensive suit and carrying no identification. Post mortem findings indicate that he died from injuries sustained during a fall. Was it an accident—did he slip and fall? Or was he pushed? Why was he up there? And why are there no signs of a vehicle near where he fell?

As the inconsistencies multiply and the mysteries surrounding these two cases proliferate, a source close to Annie reveals a piece of information that shocks the team and impacts the investigations. An old enemy has returned in a new guise—a nefarious foe who will stop at nothing, not even murder, to get what he wants.

With the stakes raised, the hunt is on. But will Banks be able to find the evidence to stop him in time?

About the Author

One of the world’s most popular and acclaimed writers, Peter Robinson is the best-selling, award-winning author of the DCI Banks series; he has also written two short-story collections and three stand-alone novels, which combined have sold more than ten million copies around the world. Among his many honors and prizes are the Edgar Award, the CWA (UK) Dagger in the Library Award, and the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy Martin Beck Award.

Praise For…

“As usual, Robinson provides a solid police procedural enhanced by the rugged Yorkshire setting. Banks himself—jazz and solitude-loving, difficult, somewhat melancholic, unlucky in love—is always fascinating.... For series fans, this one is a sure bet.”

“Engrossing.... Those who enjoy methodical police procedurals that build to a logical, satisfying conclusion will be amply rewarded.”
Publishers Weekly

Careless Love is another entertaining novel in the Inspector Banks series.”
— Hamilton Spectator

“Peter Robinson writes the kind of mysteries they don’t write anymore: smart, civilized whodunits that are intellectually challenging, emotionally engaging and always discreet.”
New York Times Book Review on Carless Love

“The best series now on the market. Try one and tell me I’m wrong.”

Stephen King

“Peter Robinson is a master.”
Tess Gerritsen

“Robinson fans will enjoy the latest entry in this long-running series...Well-written and believable, with recognizable but multifaceted characters and enough twists to keep the story riveting until the mystery is solved.”
Library Journal on Careless Love

“A mighty force to be reckoned with in crime fiction.”
Publishers Weekly on Peter Robinson

“Robinson’s interrogations... have the rare quality of steadily illuminating and thickening both the speakers and their subjects. The result is a slow-burning intensity that deepens from beginning to end.”
Kirkus Reviews on Sleeping in the Ground

“...a page turner. Expect to stay up late. It’s very hard to put down.”
Wichita Falls Times Record News (TX) on Sleeping in the Ground

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062847478
ISBN-10: 0062847473
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: January 7th, 2020
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Inspector Banks Novels